U23 World C'ships

Szilvassy Wins Second Title, Turkey Bags Three Medals

By Taylor Miller

BYDGOSZCZ, Poland – Turkey claimed a gold and two bronze medals and Hungary’s Erik SZILVASSY won his second World championship in the first day of U23 World Championships in Bydgoszcz, Poland.

2016 University World champion Szvilassy won the World title at 85 kg, defeating Ivan HUKLEK (CRO) in the finals with a 4-0 win, highlighted by a first-period throw. The Hungarian controlled the match from there for his second world title in two years.

At 75 kg, Fatih CENGIZ (TUR) put an exclamation point on an impressive tournament, picking up a decisive 5-2 win in the gold-medal finals against Gela BOLKVADZE (GEO).

The match was tied, 1-1, at the break in favor of the Turkish wrestler. He pulled away in the second period, when Bolkvadze was hit with caution and two on the edge of the mat. Cengiz went on to win a 5-2 decision.

Other medalists from Turkey include bronze medalists Murat DAG at 71 kg and Fatih BASKOY at 98 kg.

Daniel CATARAGA (MDA), a past World silver medalist, handily won the 71 kg with a 5-0 win over Grand Prix of Paris winner Robert FRITSCH (HUN).

Overall, 11 countries won medals on the first day, including Azerbaijan, China, Croatia, Finland, Georgia, Hungary, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia and Turkey.

71 kg: Daniel CATARAGA (MDA) dec. Robert FRITSCH (HUN), 5-0
75 kg: Fatih CENGIZ (TUR) dec. Gela BOLKVADZE (GEO), 5-2
85 kg: Erik SZILVASSY (HUN) dec. Ivan HUKLEK (CRO), 4-0
98 kg: Aleksandr GOLOVIN (RUS) dec. Matti KUOSMANEN (FIN), 5-3

71 kg
Murat DAG (TUR) dec. Rinat AKHMEDOV (RUS), 2-1
Farshad Mirahmad BELFAKEH (IRI) dec. Riccardo Vito ABBRESCIA (ITA), 2-1

75 kg
Esen Asanov (KGZ) dec. Nasir HASANOV (AZE), 1-0
Payam Abdeh Saleh BOVEYRI PAYANI (IRI) dec. Miras BARSHYLYKOV (KAZ), 6-2

85 kg
Islam ABBASOV (AZE) dec. Gurami KHETSURIANI (GEO), 2-1
Toni Heikki Herman METSOMAEKI (FIN) won by injury default Ruslan MAHOMEDOV (UKR)

98 kg
Abudourexiti ALIMUJIANG (CHN) dec. Bopembe Arsen SYCHEV (BLR), 3-0
Fatih BASKOY (TUR) dec. Michail IOSIFIDIS (GRE), 4-2